New Jersey takes DWI offenses very seriously and part of the reason is because of the serious dangers that loom when someone drivers while intoxicate, like assault by auto. So, it should be no surprise to hear that they tend to prosecute assault by auto and death by auto charges to the fullest extent of the law. If you have been charged with assault by auto, DUI, aggravated assault, refusal to submit to a breath sample or any other offense for that matter in Mercer County, the Keith Oliver Criminal Law can help. If you would like to set up a free initial consultation with one of attorneys, please do not hesitate to contact our office Hamilton office at 609-789-0779. Below is an article that is directly on point why law enforcement takes DWI offenses so seriously.
A Lawrenceville man has been charged with assault by auto following a two-car crash in Ringoes, New Jersey. According to nj.com, the incident happened during the early morning hours of February 3, 2018. The Defendant, a twenty (20) year old male from Lawrence, was driving his jeep down Copper Hill Road at around 8 am when he ran a red light at the Route 202 intersection. As a result, a driver from Philadelphia was heading north on Route 202 smashed into the side of the Defendant. The Philadelphia driver was treated by the Flemington-Raritan First Aid and Rescue Squad at the scene for facial injuries. All three people involved in the accident refused further medical attention.
Based on Officer Mendez observations, the Defendant was charged criminally with possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana, underage possession of alcohol, possession of drug paraphernalia, assault by auto and he was also issued traffic summons for ignoring a red light, reckless driving, driving while intoxicated, failure to produce an insurance card, open container in a motor vehicle and CDS in a motor vehicle. In addition, the front seat passenger was charged with possession of marijuana under 50 grams and possession of drug paraphernalia.
Charged with Assault by Auto in Lawrenceville NJ
Since the victims suffered what appears to “bodily injury”, the Defendant will most likely be charged with assault by auto in the fourth degree. Pursuant to NJSA 2C:12-1(c)2, assault by auto will be considered a fourth degree felony if the Defendant was operating the vehicle while intoxicated and as a result someone suffered bodily injury. It is important to not here that the “someone” referenced above includes even a passenger in the operators vehicle as well. If convicted of a fourth degree felony, a Defendant could be sentenced up to 18 months in a State Prison, fined up to $10,000 and scarred with a felony criminal record.
Facing an Assault by Auto Charge in Mercer County?
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, assault by auto, eluding or any other offense for that matter in Mercer County, Keith Oliver Criminal Law can help. These types of offenses are taken very seriously and as such, it is strongly recommend that you consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney. To set up a free initial consultation today, please contact our Hamilton office directly at 609-789-0779 or contact us online.
Assault by auto charges follow Routes 202-31 DUI crash, police say