DWI Defense Lawyers Serving Monmouth County NJ
If you or a loved one has been charged with second or subsequent driving while intoxicated offense in Monmouth County it is imperative that you speak to an experienced DWI defense lawyer immediately about your options. As you can imagine, the penalties increase for an individual convicted of a second offense DUI, DWI, or refusal. Of most importance, the reality of incarceration if convicted becomes a legitimate concern. As you will see below, the applicable penalties that one faces if convicted of a second DUI in New Jersey are life-changing. Not only is the individual facing a potentially lengthy stay in the Monmouth County Jail but they are also facing a potential two-year loss of license, 48 hours in the intoxicated drivers’ resource center, and 30 days of community service.
How Serious is a 2nd Offense DWI in New Jersey?
Although DUI / DWI offenses are considered traffic in nature, the applicable penalties if convicted could be more severe than most disorderly persons offenses (misdemeanor). If you have been charged with assault by auto, aggravated assault, eluding, driving while suspended, driving while intoxicated, refusal to submit to a breath sample, or marijuana DUI in Monmouth County, the Keith Oliver Criminal Law can help. Our Monmouth County criminal defense attorneys have been representing clients charged with DWI offenses in towns like Howell, Tinton Falls, Middletown, Wall Township, Asbury Park, Holmdel, Neptune Township, and Aberdeen for years. Since DUI offenses tend to be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law, our office has obtained unique DWI defense training orders to be able aggressively to challenge these types of charges. Those qualifications include being a certified administrator of the Alcotest Machine and a certified instructor of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests. Those are the two key pieces of evidence used in any DWI trial in New Jersey. Having those unique qualifications gives our Monmouth County DUI defense lawyers an insight into how to aggressively challenge the key evidence against you. If you would like to schedule a free initial consultation with Mr. Oliver or one of the other attorneys on staff, then please contact us directly at (732)858-6959. Now here is some important information on second-offense DUI charges in New Jersey.
Second Offense DWI Attorneys in Neptune Township NJ
What are the Penalties for a 2nd Offense DUI in NJ
A conviction for a second offense DWI in New Jersey will result in far worse penalties when compared to a first-offense DWI. Unlike a first offense DWI, where the legislature has allowed for the potential to avoid a loss of license, a second offense only has one potential outcome, a loss of license. Basically, if convicted of a second offense of DWI, a defendant will be facing a mandatory one (1) to (2) year loss of their driving privileges. In addition, the Defendant will also be facing up to ninety (90) days in the Monmouth County Jail, fines/assessments totaling approximately $1,000, forty-eight (48) hours in the intoxicated drivers’ resource center, thirty (30) days of community service and the installation of the ignition interlock device. Unlike criminal convictions, DWI convictions never “go away”. They can never be expunged, and to make matters worse, they are enhanceable. With that being said, the legislature has allowed for what is known as a “step-down”. If ten (10) years have elapsed since the Defendant’s first DUI conviction and their second DUI arrest, the current charge may be stepped down and treated as a first offense. For more information on a “step-down” please contact our office at (732)858-6959.
Looking for DWI Lawyer in Asbury Park NJ
As you can tell, the penalties if convicted of a second offense DWI in New Jersey can be devastating. Therefore, it is imperative that you hire an experienced Monmouth County DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible. DWI’s are one of only two charges in the entire criminal code that does not allow for plea bargaining. This is where an experienced DUI defense lawyer can make a tremendous difference. They can analyze your case and create legitimate issues in order to obtain a better result. If you or a loved one has been charged with a DWI, DUI, or Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test in Monmouth County in towns like Manalapan, Marlboro, Little Silver, Union Beach, Freehold, Belmar, Manasquan or Long Branch, we can help. If you would like to come into our office and have a face-to-face conversation with one of our DUI defense lawyers about your options then please contact us directly at (732)858-6959. We are available 24/7 to help assist in any way possible. We fully understand that being charged with a DUI offense let alone a second offense can be extremely nerve-wracking.