DWI Charges in Howell New Jersey
If you have been arrested and charged with a driving while intoxicated in Howell, New Jersey you will have to appear in the Howell Municipal Court, which is located at 300 Old Tavern Road to answer for those charges. It is well known by now that New Jersey has some of the harshest penalties in the country for DWI’s. In fact, the only saving grace when it comes to a DWI charges is that it is traffic in nature and not criminal. Other than that, the penalties are severe, they include a potential of not only a lengthy license suspension, imposition of the ignition interlock device and high fines but even jail time. In addition to that, plea bargaining is prohibited when it comes to DWI offenses in New Jersey. If you have been charged with a DUI in Howell, it is important that you speak to not only an experienced Howell DUI defense lawyer but an experienced Howell Municipal Court defense lawyer about your case. These offense are rather time sensitive as the New Jersey Supreme Court has issued Directive 1-84, which directs that all DWI matters be resolved within 60 days. Although the 60-day rule is often relaxed, the pressure to resolve these cases in a timely fashion always exist. Therefore it is crucial that you speak to an experienced DWI defense lawyer as soon as possible about your options.
Need Local DWI Defense Attorney Near Howell
Our Howell DWI defense attorneys have been appearing in the Howell Municipal Court for years now. One of the members of our firm has received specialized DWI defense training over his career. Their training consists of becoming a certified instructor for the Standardized Field Sobriety Test and becoming certified as an administer of the Alcotest Machine. The Alcotest results and the standardized field sobriety test are probably the two most important pieces of evidence that the State would need to successfully present at trial in order to obtain a conviction. If you have any questions or would simply like to discuss the facts of your case with one of our Howell DWI defense lawyers, then please feel free to contact us directly at (732) 858-6959. Here is some information Howell Municipal Court and how they handle DWI offense.
Do I need an Attorney for a DUI Charge in Howell?
NJSA 39:4-50 Charges in Howell NJ?
New Jersey uses the phrase DWI and DUI interchangeably. So whether you have been charged with driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence, you will be facing the same penalties. As touched upon earlier, all DWI offenses that occur within the Township Howell’s border will be heard in the Howell Municipal Court. The court is located at 300 Old Tavern Road, directly next to the police station. Court will be in session every Wednesday at 1 p.m. and every Friday at 9 a.m. Judge Clark is the presiding Judge and Anthony Vecchio is the municipal prosecutor for the Township of Howell. The Howell Municipal Court presides over more than 200 DWI cases each and every year. Wall Township may be the only town in Monmouth County that presides over more DWI offenses each year. Since DWI offenses in New Jersey are traffic in nature, a Defendant is not entitled to a jury trial. They are only entitled to what is known as a bench trial. That is where the Judge is the sole trier of fact. Now here is some more information on the potential penalties that an individual faces if they are convicted of a DWI in New Jersey.
Will I lose my License if I am Convicted of a DUI in NJ?
DWI charges in New Jersey are enhanceable offenses. Meaning that if a Defendant is convicted of a second or subsequent DUI offense and not more than 10 years has expired since the previous conviction, the potential penalties will drastically increase. For example, a Defendant convicted of a first-offense DWI will be facing the imposition of the ignition interlock device and a potential loss of license. For a second offense DWI they will be facing a one to two year loss of license and the imposition of the ignition interlock device. For a 3rd offense DWI they would be facing a mandatory 8-year loss of license and imposition of the ignition interlock device. In addition, anyone convicted of a third or subsequent offense will face a mandatory 180 days in the Monmouth County Jail. To make matters worse, New Jersey does not issue temporary license whatsoever. For more information on the penalties for DWI offenses in New Jersey, please contact our office at (732)858-6959 or checkout our DWI practice series by clicking the link.
DUI Lawyers in Howell NJ
Most defendants charged with a DWI in New Jersey are extremely nervous. Hiring the right attorney, one who not only knows how to handle DWIs but also knows how the Howell Municipal Court works, can go a long way to alleviating some of the stress. If you have been arrested for DUI in Howell, New Jersey we can help. We are well aware of what a lengthy licenses suspension, let alone a jail sentence could do to your life. To speak to one of our attorneys today, please contact us at (732) 858-6959.