Facing a 3rd Offense DWI in Monmouth County?
Have you been charged with a DWI for a third or subsequent time in Monmouth County? If so, we strongly urge you to speak to an experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney as soon as possible. As you will see below, a conviction for a third or subsequent driving while intoxicated offense in New Jersey would land a Defendant behind bars for six months and saddle them with a license loss for eight years. It is important to note here, that those are considered the mandatory minimum penalties and not the “worst case scenario”. In addition, there are thousands of dollars in fines and insurance surcharges as well. As most of you are probably well aware of by now, plea bargaining is prohibited when it comes to driving while intoxicated offense. This only adds to the necessity of making sure that you speak to an attorney as soon as possible about your options.
Looking for a Local DWI Lawyer for 3rd Offense in Middletown NJ
If you have been issued a summons for driving under the influence for a third or subsequent time in Monmouth County, the Keith Oliver Criminal Law can help. To set up a free initial consultation today, please contact our Middletown office at 732.858.69599. Our office serves all of Monmouth County, including towns like Middletown, Wall Township, Asbury Park, Tinton Falls, Holmdel, Eatontown, Manalapan, Marlboro, Belmar, Hazlet and Ocean Township. As always, our initial consultations are free of costs. So if you have any questions whatsoever, please do not hesitate to contact us. Now here is some more information third offense DUI charges in New Jersey, including what the State must prove and what the penalties are if convicted.
Charged with a 3rd Offense DWI in New Jersey
It is important to note here, for sentencing purposes, New Jersey treats driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI) charges as one and the same. All DWI charges are governed under NJSA 39:4-50, which prohibits:
“A person [from] operat[ing] a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood…”
What are the Penalties for a 3rd Offense DUI Charge in NJ?
Although DWI offenses are considered traffic in nature, the ramifications, especially for third time offender, are considered far worse than most disorderly persons offenses (misdemeanor). They include the following:
- $1,000 Fine
- 180 in the County Jail;
- 90 Days can be served in an Inpatient Facility
- 8 Year Loss of License
- $50 VCCO
- $100 DDEF
- $75 SNSF
- 1 to 3 Years with Ignition Interlock Device
Middletown NJ 3rd Offense DUI Lawyer
Keith Oliver Criminal Law is a Monmouth County based DUI and criminal defense firm that serves the entire county. If you or a loved one has been charged with DWI, driving under the influence of drugs, a marijuana DUI, eluding, endangering the welfare of a child for a DUI, assault by auto, strict liability vehicular homicide in Monmouth County and would like to speak to one of our attorneys about your options, then please contact our Middletown 732.858.6959. Our initial consultations are always free of costs, so if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. One of our attorneys would be glad to go over your options and give you our honest feedback on how we can be of assistance. We appear in courts throughout the County, including courts in towns like Howell, Manalapan, Freehold, Colts Neck, Red Bank, West Long Branch and Manasquan.