Bridgewater NJ Underage Drinking Lawyer
One of the most overlooked charges in New Jersey is underage drinking. Although it is well known that the vast majority of individuals under the age of twenty-one have at least tried alcohol, most do not realize the potential ramifications if they were to be charged with underage drinking. Underage drinking in New Jersey is considered a disorderly persons offense, also known as a misdemeanor. Which means, if convicted, not only would the individual be looking at a criminal record but their is the potential for jail time as well. That is just one of the many reasons that we strongly recommend that if you or a loved one has been charged with underage drinking that you speak to an attorney as soon as possible. The courts throughout the Somerset and Hunterdon County tend to take this offense very seriously do in large part to the potential dangers that come from underage drinking, including but not limited to driving while intoxicated and assault by auto. In an effort to try and combat the potential dangers associated with underage drinking, the courts tend to prosecute these cases very aggressively. If you would like to sit down and discuss your options with one of the Somerset County criminal defense attorneys at Keith Oliver Criminal Law then please contact us directly at 908-533-1064.
At Keith Oliver Criminal Law, our attorneys full understand what a criminal conviction can do to someone’s life, especially at such a young age. As such, we are dedicated to aggressively challenging the evidence presented against our clients in order to obtain a favorable outcome. To speak to one of our attorneys today then please contact our Bridgewater office at 908-533-1064. Our office serves all of Somerset and Hunterdon County, including towns like South Bound Brook, Hillsborough, Bound Brook, Clinton, Readington, Raritan, North Plainfield, Watchung, Flemington and Somerville. As always, our initial consultations are free of costs, so if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Readington NJ Underage Drinking Attorney
In New Jersey, it is illegal for anyone to either possess or consume alcohol unless they are over the age of twenty-one (21). The governing statute for this offense is NJSA 2C:33-15. Pursuant to NJSA 2C:33-15, anyone caught possessing or consuming alcohol under the age of twenty-one will be facing a disorderly persons offense. As stated earlier, a disorderly persons offenses is New Jersey’s version of a misdemeanor. If convicted, a Defendant will be facing up to six months in jail, a fine anywhere between $500 and $1,000 and a six month loss of driving privileges. If the Defendant is under the age of seventeen at the time of the offense, the court will suspend their ability to obtain a drivers license for six months. It is important to note here that the loss of license is regardless of whether or not the offense involved a motor vehicle. As you can see this offense carries with it rather harsh penalties if convicted. That is why we strongly recommend that you speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Charged with Underage Drinking in Green Brook NJ
As you can see from above, the potential penalties for anyone accused of underage drinking in New Jersey are severe. That is why we strongly recommend that if you have been charged with underage drinking, disorderly conduct, trespassing, resisting arrest, simple assault or eluding in Somerset or Hunterdon County that you speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. To speak to one of the attorneys at Keith Oliver Criminal Law please feel free to contact our Bridgewater office at 908-533-1064. One of our attorneys is available immediately for a free initial consultation. Our office appears in courts throughout Somerset and Hunterdon County, including courts in tows like Bound Brook, Manville, Franklin, Bedminster, Bernards, Somerville, Clinton, Readington and Raritan.