Need a Lawyer for a DWI Charge in Ewing NJ?
New Jersey has some of the toughest DWI / DUI laws around. They include not only a mandatory license of loss and high fines but the potential for incarceration as well, even for first time offenders. On top of that, plea bargaining is prohibited on DUI offenses in New Jersey. Therefore, it is imperative that you seek the assistance of not only an experienced Ewing DWI defense lawyer but an experienced Ewing Municipal Court defense attorney if you have been charged with a DWI. Our attorneys have been appearing the Ewing Municipal Court for years now. If you have been arrested and charged with a DWI, DUI, Refusal to Submit to a Breath Sample, assault by auto, death by auto or endangering the welfare of a child in Ewing, the Keith Oliver Criminal Law can help. If you would like to speak to one of our attorneys about your options then please contact our office directly at (609) 789-0779.
Ewing New Jersey Driving While Intoxicated Defense Lawyers
Our Ewing Municipal Court defense attorneys have the experience and skill set needed to protect your rights. We fully understand what a lengthy license suspension can do to one’s future. One of the firm’s founding partners has obtained certain unique qualifications that are crucial when it comes to defending a DWI case in New Jersey. He has been certified to be an instructor of the Standard Field Sobriety Tests and has been certified as an operator of the Alcotest Machine. The Alcotest is the machine used to determine what a Defendant’s blood alcohol content is. Therefore, he has received specialized training in the two main pieces of evidence used in a DWI trial. This training gives us a unique advantage when it comes to attacking the State’s proofs at a DWI trial. For more information on our specialized training please contact us at (609)789-0779.
Where Do I appear if I am Charged with a DUI In Ewing?
If you have been charged with a DWI in Ewing, New Jersey you will have to appear in the Ewing Municipal Court to answer those charges. The Ewing Municipal Court is located at 2 Jake Garzio Drive and it is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. As touched upon above, DWI offenses are non-plea bargainable and since they are traffic in nature, a Defendant is only entitled to a bench trial as opposed to a jury trial. So, that means that Judge Haley, who is the presiding Ewing Municipal Court Judge, will be sole person who decides whether or not a Defendant is innocent or guilty. Furthermore, DUI charges are enhance-able offenses, meaning that for a second or subsequent conviction the penalties will increase. Here is a breakdown in those potential penalties.
What are the Penalties for a DWI in New Jersey?
First Offense DWI Penalties in NJ
A Defendant convicted of a first offense DWI in New Jersey with a BAC reading of .10% or below will face the following penalties: a mandatory three month ignition interlock device, up to thirty days in the Mercer County jail, a fine up to $400 and up to twelve hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC). A Defendant convicted of a first offense DWI with a BAC reading above a .10% a Defendant will face all the previously mentioned penalties but the imposition of the ignition interlock device anywhere from seven to twelve months and if the BAC is over a .15% then a 4 to 6 month loss of license.
Second Offense DWI Penalties in NJ
A Defendant convicted of a second offense DWI in New Jersey will face the following penalties: a mandatory one to two year loss of license, two to ninety days in the Mercer County jail, a fine up to $1,000, thirty days of community service, twelve to forty-eight hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC), the ignition interlock device must be installed as well.
Third Offense DUI Penalties in NJ
A Defendant convicted of a third offense DWI in New Jersey will face the following penalties: a mandatory eight year loss of license, mandatory 180 days in the Mercer County jail (90 of which could be served in an inpatient rehab), up to ninety days of community service, a fine up to $1,000, twelve to forty-eight hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC), the ignition interlock device must be installed as well.
Do DUI Charges ever get Erased in NJ?
With that being said, a Defendant could be entitled to what is known as a step down. A step down in New Jersey comes into play if at least ten years have passed since a Defendant’s last DWI conviction and new DWI charge. If that is the case, the Defendant could be “stepped down” for sentencing purpose and treated as one offense level lower. In other words, if a Defendant is facing a third offense DWI but they are entitled to a step down then they will be sentenced as a second time offender.
DWI Attorneys in Ewing NJ
As you can tell from reading, the penalties if convicted of a DWI in New Jersey are severe. In fact, it has been said that the penalties that one faces if convicted of a DWI offense are more severe than some criminal offenses. If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with driving under the influence in Ewing the Keith Oliver Criminal Law can help. Our DWI defense lawyers possess the skill set necessary to fight to protect your rights. If you would like to schedule a free initial consultation then please contact us at (609) 789-0779 or for any other questions please leave us an email.